Meet the New Macaroni Kid Overland Park Publisher

By Melissa Basgall, Macaroni Kid Kansas City February 15, 2021

Hi everyone! I'm Melissa Basgall, the new publisher for Macaroni Kid Overland Park! I also publish Macaroni Kid Downtown/South Kansas City and Kansas City Kansas/Leavenworth. I am thrilled for the opportunity to expand into other parts of the city!  I was born and raised in Olathe and love the Johnson County area, so it's a perfect fit for me, and I'm hopeful I can provide all kinds of fantastic content for all of you! 

Today I wanted to take a few minutes to introduce myself, and share a little bit about my background and my family. So, here we go!


I was born and raised in south Olathe, and spent a few years at Pitt State before deciding I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life, and took the leap to travel the world as an international flight attendant for United Airlines. I loved traveling and living on the east coast, but after a few years my sister started having babies, and I started missing home.

I moved back to KC and met my husband Garret within a few days of returning to KC. We've been married for 7 years (together for 11) and now reside in Basehor, Kansas. We have a 5-year-old daughter, Everly. We struggled with secondary infertility for 3 years, losing several babies along the way, including one at 21 weeks. This year Garret and I finally found peace with our situation, and decided we must just be meant to be a family of 3!

I work full time as a volunteer services manager for a large not-for-profit hospice here in KC, and while I normally spend my days traveling back and forth from our 7 locations across the metro, I  have had the privilege of working from home through the pandemic. My husband runs a classic auto part sales business and has been working from home as well. Our daughter has been home with us since the first stay-at-home order came out almost a year ago, so it's pure chaos over here, to say the least. 

More about me — I'm an enneagram 7, and a Gemini. I always say that I'm a Jill of many trades, master of absolutely none. Except mixing cocktails...I'm pretty good at that, especially scratch bloody marys! I dabble in just about everything — home decor, DIY, blogging, fashion, cooking, and recently I've tried my hand at vegetable gardening. Favorite activities include sports spectating, walks with scenic views, audiobooks, traveling, trying new restaurants/food, musicals, fantasy football, and sitting poolside/lakeside/oceanside (basically near any aesthetically pleasing body of water), and of course, exploring our amazing city. 

I also have a personal blog where I share more about myself and the day to day life of my family. I'd love for you to follow me at "Kansas City Family", on Instagram and/or Facebook. IG: and FB:

Thanks so much for your readership, and I look forward to getting to know all of you in the coming months!

All my best-