guides

Outdoor Summer Concerts in Johnson County & Wyandotte County, Kansas

2018

By Gail Keller - Publisher Macaroni Kid JoCo / KCK June 6, 2018

🎵 Summer is here. Time to enjoy some outdoor live music! JoCo has a bunch of choices, most of which are FREE. Just grab the blankets and chairs and head on out.   


Bonner Springs:

City Band ConcertEvery Thursday in June & July from 8-10 pm at Kelly Murphy Park. Ice cream social held by various civic organizations. June 7-July 26.


Gardner:

Movies & Music in the Park Series - Live music followed by a movie

Sat, Aug 10 at 7 pm at Celebration Park - Band: Groove Therapy; Movie: Footloose
Sat, Sept 14 at 6 pm at Cornerstone Park, TBA, Movie: Mary Poppins

Leawood:

Grinnin' & Groovin at Ironwoods Park - This is an annual event series for kids at Ironwoods Park located at 147th St and Mission Road in Leawood. All shows are 9:30 - 10:30 am. Two of the four shows are live concerts.

Tue, June 5 - Funky Mama
Tue, June 12 - Mr. Stinky Feet
Tue, June 19 - StoneLion Puppets
Tue, June 26 - Brian Wendling


Throwback Thursdays Live at Park Place - Every Thursday in July from 6 to 8 pm at Barkley Square. Pop and rock from the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's

Thu, July 5 - Synchronicity (The Police tribute band)
Thu, July 12 -Elton Dan (Elton John tribute band) and Doves and Dreams (Stevie Nicks tribute band)
Thu, July 19 - Liverpool (The Beatles tribute band)
Thu, July 26 - Rattle and Hum (U2 tribute band)


Sunset Music Fest at Town Center Plaza - Every Thursday at 7 pm in June at Town Center Plaza (117th & Nall) in the north parking lot. Bring blankets and chairs but NO coolers. Food and drink for sale, giveaways and kids' activities starting at 6 pm.

Thu, June 7 - The Romantics with Modern Day Fitzgerald
Thu, June 14 - The Fabulous Thunderbirds with The MGDs
Thu, June 21 - Fastball with School of Rock – Overland Park
Thu, June 28 - Sister Hazel with Edison Lights


Sundays in the Park Concert Series at Ironwoods Park - Every Sunday at 6 pm from August 12th through September 2nd at Ironwoods Park (147th & Mission). Some seating is available however, blankets and/or lawn chairs are recommended. Picnics are welcomed but alcohol is not allowed within the park.

Sun, Aug 12 - Grand Marquis
Sun, Aug 19 - David Basse
Sun, Aug 26 - KC Latin Jazz All-Stars
Sun, Sept 2 - Hard@Play


Lenexa:

Lenexa Outdoor Concert Series: Sunday evenings in May, June and September at 6 pm at Sar-Ko-Par Trails Park. Bring your lawn chairs or blankets and picnic dinner and enjoy a variety of music.

Sun, May 20: Vigil Annie
Sun, May 27: Tom's Town Quintet
Sun, June 3: Abbey Road
Sun, June 10: Trio Aztlan
Sun, September 16: Keaton Conrad (indie rock, pop and hip-hop)
Sun, September 23: The Recliners (classic rock)


Merriam:

Entertainment at the Merriam Marketplace - Shop the farmers' market and enjoy free live music on Saturdays at 10 am and Wednesdays at 6 pm. 5740 Merriam Drive.


Olathe:


Olathe Live! Summer Concert Series- All shows begin at 7 pm. People start arriving between 5-6 pm. Blankets, chairs, coolers, food, beverages on dogs on leashes are permitted but NO alcohol.


Friday, June 8 - Laith Al-Saadi with Josh Hoyer & Soul Colossal at Frontier Park
Friday, June 22 - Ruthie Foster with Lester Estelle and Friends at Frontier Park
Friday, July 6 - Liverpool with The M80s at Olathe Community Center
Friday, July 20 - Landslide with Syncronicity at Frontier Park
Friday, September 21 - The Gibson Brothers with Kelly Hunt at Olathe Community Center


Overland Park:


Live Music at the Farmstead - enjoy live music at Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead at 6:30 p.m. 

Thursday, June 7 - Funky Mama
Thursday, July 5 - Percussion Magic
Thursday, August 2 - Mr. Stinky Feet


Music in the Park - Live music every Sunday in June through July 2 from 7 - 8:30 pm at Santa Fe Commons Park. 8045 Santa Fe Drive. Leashed dogs welcome!

Sun, June 3, 10, 17, 24 and July 1- Overland Park Civic Band


Commerce Bank Summer Concert Series at Prairiefire - every Thursday in June and July from 7 - 10 pm. 5661 W. 135th Street


Under the Clock Tower at the Farmers' Market - Shop the Farmers' Market and enjoy live entertainment from 10:30 am - 12 pm


Light up the Lawn at the Nerman - 8:30 pm

August 17 - Betse & Clarke: Short Round Stringband
August 24 - OLIVIA FOX
August 31 - Trio Aztlan


Shawnee:

Jammin' on the Green - At the Shawnee Town Gazebo at 7 pm. Shawnee Town is located at 11501 W. 57th St.

Wed, June 27 - The Ukesters
Wed, July 25 - Vine Street Rumble Jazz Orchestra
Wed, August 22 - Grand Marquis



Find Your Family Fun® in JoCo Kansas
🌞 Go to the 2018 Ultimate Summer Fun Guide